Spring Break Miscellany

So damned lazy

Spring break has been so, so needed. The first night, I just lay on the couch and watched 9 hours of Glee on Netflix. I rarely get a chance to just watch hours of TV. It was great. I had creme horns for dinner. This was also great.

I was so lazy. I was so tired. I was so happy not to have less than 48 hours to get a bunch of shit done AND  “relax.”

I was so lazy, I was a little worried I might be…too lazy all week. I woke up really late. Later than I’d slept in a long time, but I went to sleep at three, so that was ok, really. I had an early dinner with my sister at Jazz,  a local Cajun restaurant, and then hung out with some friend’s at their neighbor’s house, and drank wine.

Fire Pit

I’ve decided I very much want a decent fire pit. Theirs was NICE.

Wouldn't this be nice? Dream on, right?!

Isn't this pretty? But a lot of potential for drunken, ultimately chilly missteps into the water, I think...

Productive, Finally!

So Saturday was also lazy, but NOT TO FEAR, Sunday was nice and productive. And I wasn’t resentful of it being worky, because I didn’t have to go to work tomorrow! This vacation stuff is magical, let me tell you.

Let’s see, I…
  • Went to Home Depot
  • Got some flowers and gardening stuff and paint
  • Painted most of an old wicker loveseat rescued from garage a soft yellow. Discovered 3 cans of spray paint is not enough. But most of it is done, and I will finish it later this week.

    Not actually my project, but the same exact love seat, and I'm painting it a similar yellow. No red, though. (WTF?)

  • It’s gonna go on the back deck or patio when we get it cleaned up
  • Made composting bin, shoveled mulch into mulch bin.
  • Transplanted white and pink creeping phlox.
  • This is what I want my phlox to be when they grow up...

  • Started sorting through stuff in garage. I’m having a garage sale in mid-June.
  • My goddamned spade broke when I was transplanting the last phlox, so I dug that hole with the broken spade and my bare hands. Woman versus nature! I was determined. I just bought that spade a month ago, dammit. Apparently, I don’t know my own strength. I need to upgrade the spade. There’s an app, right?
  • Cleaned the kitchen, made the bed, cleaned the bathroom sink, swept bathroom.

It’s very exciting. Parts of my house are clean that haven’t been clean since…in a while! I shall take photos when I find and charge the camera. I’m sure you are on the EDGE OF YOUR SEATS!

Opinion: I know you have one. Share, why dontcha?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

